Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Phil Andrews, District 3 Roger Berliner, District 1 Marc Elrich, At-Large Valerie Ervin, District 5 Nancy Floreen, At-Large George Leventhal, At-Large Nancy Navarro, District 4 Craig Rice, District 2 Hans Riemer, At-Large

 Click to go to translation options TRANSLATE the Council Site Search Council 
  Council Photos


Council Photo

STOP PASSING THE BUS … The Montgomery County Council on March 6 unanimously approved Bill 37-11 that authorizes installation of cameras on County school buses to monitor vehicles that illegally pass stopped buses. Drivers caught on camera illegally passing a stopped bus will be subject to a maximum civil fine of up to $250. At the news conference, it was reported that each of the County’s 1,500 drivers reports approximately 500 incidents a year where vehicles illegally pass stopped buses. Among those at an event in Rockville to stress the importance of the bill were, left to right: Counclmember Valerie Ervin, the chief sponsor of the bill; David Rodich of SEIU Local 500, bus driver Bob Herron, Councilmember Phil Andrews, chair of the Council’s Public Safety Committee; Board of Education President Shirley Brandman, School Superintendent Joshua Starr and Police Chief J. Thomas Manger.

» Return to Press Photos
Last edited: 12/23/2009  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)