Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Phil Andrews, District 3 Roger Berliner, District 1 Marc Elrich, At-Large Valerie Ervin, District 5 Nancy Floreen, At-Large George Leventhal, At-Large Nancy Navarro, District 4 Craig Rice, District 2 Hans Riemer, At-Large

 Click to go to translation options TRANSLATE the Council Site Search Council 
  Council Photos


Council Photo

Most of the discussion was serious on Feb. 11 when U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski (left) met informally with the members of the Montgomery County Council Much of the meeting focused on the consequences of sequestration—deep automatic spending cuts that will kick in if Congress doesn’t agree to a deficit-reduction plan by March 1. Senator Mikulski said if the cuts went into effect, the impact on Montgomery County—which is home to many federal agencies and has many workers in federal positions—could “be dire.” Listening intently to the Senator, clockwise, were: Council President Nancy Navarro, George Leventhal, Council Vice President Craig Rice, Marc Elrich, Phil Andrews, Nancy Floreen and Roger Berliner. Councilmembers emphasized to Senator Mikulski that funding for the County’s transportation needs was Montgomery’s top priority.

» Return to Press Photos
Last edited: 12/23/2009  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)