Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Phil Andrews, District 3 Roger Berliner, District 1 Marc Elrich, At-Large Valerie Ervin, District 5 Nancy Floreen, At-Large George Leventhal, At-Large Nancy Navarro, District 4 Craig Rice, District 2 Hans Riemer, At-Large

 Click to go to translation options TRANSLATE the Council Site Search Council 
Council News - Press Releases & Statements

Montgomery County Council Selects Craig Rice to Chair Education Committee Committee Chair. Position Has Been Vacant Since Valerie Ervin Resigned from Council on Jan. 3
  • Release ID: 14-013
  • Release Date: 1/17/2014
  • Contact: Neil Greenberger 240-777-7939 or Delphine Harriston240-777-7931
  • From: Council Office
The Montgomery County Council has selected Councilmember Craig Rice as the new chair of the Council’s Education Committee. The committee chair position has been vacant since Councilmember Valerie Ervin resigned from the Council on Jan. 3 to take a position with a non-profit organization.

Councilmember Rice, who is currently serving a one-year term as Council President, already was a member of the Education Committee. The nine-member Council has six permanent, three-member committees.

“I am honored that my fellow Councilmembers have entrusted me with the position of chair of the Education Committee,” said Council President Rice. “Education has been one of my top priorities—not only since I began serving on the Council, but going back to my time as Maryland State Delegate. We are at an important stage in working to maintain our public school system as one of the nation’s best and Montgomery College as one of the top community colleges in the country. I look forward to helping those efforts as chair of the Council’s Education Committee.”

Councilmember Ervin, who represented District 5, was the chair of the Education Committee and a member of the Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee. Councilmembers also decided that the person selected to fill the vacancy as the District 5 Councilmember will assume her positions as a member on those two committees. Over the next week, the Council has scheduled interviews with 13 of those who applied to fill the vacancy to the end of the term, which expires on Dec. 1, 2014.

Public Safety Committee Chair Phil Andrews, who is the longest-serving member of the Council and also is a member of the Education Committee, strongly supported the decision of the Councilmembers to choose Councilmember Rice as the new committee chair.

“It is unusual that the Council would have a position of committee chair become open in the final year of our four-year Council term,” said Councilmember Andrews. “Even though he has the added responsibility of being Council President this year, it was clear to Councilmembers overall that Craig was the best person to take the role of chair of the Education Committee.”

                                                                                            # # # #

Last edited: 12/23/2009  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)