Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Bethesda-Chevy Chase Regional Services Center
Council News - Press Releases & Statements

Montgomery County Council Approves Two Measures to Expand Bikesharing Bill 25-12 and ZTA 12-11 Will Provide Incentives To Jump Start Expansion of Capital Bikeshare
  • Release ID: 12-214
  • Release Date: 11/13/2012
  • Contact: Neil Greenberger 240-777-7939 or Delphine Harriston240-777-7931
  • From: Council Office
ROCKVILLE, Md., November 13, 2012—The Montgomery County Council today approved two measures designed to encourage the expansion of Capital Bikeshare to Montgomery County. Bill 25-12 will allow transportation impact tax funds to be used to help fund bikesharing stations. Zoning Text Amendment (ZTA) 12-14 will allow private property owners to more easily seek building permits for bikesharing facilities.

Council President Roger Berliner and Councilmember Valerie Ervin were the lead sponsors of the two initiatives that were first introduced in September. Councilmembers Phil Andrews, Marc Elrich, Nancy Navarro and Hans Riemer were co-sponsors of Bill 25-12. Councilmembers Navarro and Riemer were co-sponsors of ZTA 12-14. Both measures were passed unanimously today.

“These two pieces of legislation are a response to feedback we heard from the private sector as to what our County could do to make partnering with us a more attractive option to developers as we work to expand Capital Bikeshare to Montgomery County,” said Council President Berliner, who also chairs the Council’s Transportation, Infrastructure, Energy and Environment Committee. “I am very optimistic that we are making progress on this endeavor.”

Transportation impact taxes—paid by developers as part of the approval process for new developments—may be used for a variety of functions that help improve transportation in the County. Bill 25-12 adds installation of Bikeshare stations to a list that already includes funding bicycle paths and providing bicycle lockers.

“I am committed to expanding low-cost transportation options through reliable transit and facilities to allow bicyclists and pedestrians to travel in a safe, reliable and convenient way,” said Councilmember Ervin, who represents the East County, which includes Silver Spring and Takoma Park. “The bikeshare program and expanding interconnected bike routes have been at the top of my legislative agenda since joining the Council. These measures are ways we can incentivize private investment to leverage the bikeshare program. I am excited as we continue to move forward.”

ZTA 12-14 allows a building permit for a bikeshare facility to be granted without a requirement for conformance to an approved site plan. The County’s Planning Board recommended approval of ZTA 12-14 as introduced. It said the measure would make it easier for a developer to provide bikeshare facilities.

“Like so many of our residents, I am a user and supporter of Bikeshare programs. They’re a convenient, fast, and fun way to get around our County. I am excited to see the progress we have made on this transit policy in the past year,” said Councilmember Riemer. “We are on our way.”

Councilmember Navarro, who chairs the Government Operations and Fiscal Policy Committee which approved Bill 25-12, said, “The Transportation Impact Tax is charged to developers to pay for the additional transportation needs created by growth. Bikesharing is an effective way to get people out of their cars, so it makes sense to use this money to help pay for these facilities. I was proud to support these measures because they will make our county healthier, greener, and less congested.”

“Capital Bikeshare provides Montgomery County residents with an important transportation option, and these two pieces of legislation will make it easier to expand this exciting program,” said Councilmember George Leventhal.

The Montgomery County Department of Transportation expects that the first stations will be operational by the spring or summer of 2013.

                                                                                                             # # # #

Last edited: 1/15/2016  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)