Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Bethesda-Chevy Chase Regional Services Center
Council News - Press Releases & Statements

Montgomery County Council to Elect New Officers on Tuesday, Dec. 4 Roger Berliner Will Conclude His One-Year Term as President With Remarks Reviewing the Past Year
  • Release ID: 12-231
  • Release Date: 12/3/2012
  • Contact: Neil Greenberger 240-777-7939 or Delphine Harriston240-777-7931
  • From: Council Office
ROCKVILLE, Md., December 3, 2012—The Montgomery County Council on Tuesday, Dec. 4, will elect new officers to one-year terms. Prior to completing his one-year term as president, Councilmember Roger Berliner will offer comments reviewing the Council’s accomplishments over the past year.

Councilmember Nancy Navarro’s one-year term as Council vice president also will end tomorrow. It has been tradition for the Council vice president to succeed the president the following year. If elected, Councilmember Navarro would become the first Latino female president of the County Council.

The nine Councilmembers will vote on the selection of new officers to one-year terms. The new officers will take their positions immediately.

The Council’s regular session will begin at 9:30 a.m. in the Third Floor Council Hearing Room of the Council Office Building at 100 Maryland Ave. in Rockville. The election of officers will take place as one of the early items on the agenda.

The Council morning and afternoon sessions will be televised live by County Cable Montgomery (CCM—Cable Channel 6 on Comcast and RCN, Channel 30 on Verizon). The broadcast also will be available via streaming through the County Web site at www.montgomerycountymd.gov. It will be rebroadcast on Friday, Dec. 7, starting at 9 p.m. In addition, a 7:30 p.m. public hearing to be held by the Planning, Housing and Economic Development Committee on the proposed 2012 County Housing Policy also will be televised live.

The Council’s morning session will begin with the presentation of a proclamation to Jeanette Dixon, principal of Paint Branch High School, recognizing her selection by The Washington Post for a Distinguished Educational Leadership Award.

During the morning session, it is expected that the Council will vote on Bill 23-12 that would establish an Open Government initiative. Councilmember Hans Riemer is the lead sponsor of the legislation.

A resolution to recommend to the Maryland General Assembly enhancement of anti-bullying efforts through the use of multi-disciplinary teams also will be introduced during the morning session. Councilmembers Valerie Ervin, Craig Rice, Nancy Navarro, Nancy Floreen, Phil Andrews, Hans Riemer and George Leventhal are sponsors of the resolution.

During the afternoon session, the Council is expected to take action on the Burtonsville Crossroads Neighborhood Plan that will guide revitalization of the area around Route 29 into a more complete community.

                                                                                                       # # # #

Last edited: 1/15/2016  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)