Text Version      
Montgomery County Maryland
Home | Translate  
Zoning Rewrite
Transit Master Plan
Council Grant Information
Shaping our Future Briefings
Reports & Other Documents
Zoning, Special Exceptions, Subdivision Processes
Bethesda-Chevy Chase Regional Services Center
Council News - Press Releases & Statements

Montgomery County Council to Meet With Executive Branch Representatives on Silver Spring Transit Center on Wed., May 1
  • Release ID: 13-117
  • Release Date: 4/29/2013
  • Contact: Neil Greenberger 240-777-7939 or Delphine Harriston240-777-7931
  • From: Council Office

The Montgomery County Council at 2 p.m. on Wednesday, May 1, will meet with representatives of the County’s Executive Branch for a briefing on the status of the Silver Spring Transit Center. Tim Firestine, the County’s Chief Administrative Officer, and David Dise, the director of General Services, are expected to be among those meeting with the Council.

On Friday, April 26, a letter signed by all nine Councilmembers asked County Executive Isiah Leggett to meet with the Council after learning through a newspaper report that the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) would not accept the transit center as contemplated by the Memorandum of Understanding between WMATA and Montgomery County. The letter stated, “This was a significant development which warranted prompt notification of the Council.”

Additionally, at an April 9 briefing on the transit center, Council President Nancy Navarro specifically requested weekly written briefings on the project from the Executive Branch. The April 26 letter repeated that request.

The briefing on Wednesday will take place in the Third Floor Hearing Room of the Council Office Building at 100 Maryland Ave. in Rockville. The meeting will be televised live by County Cable Montgomery (CCM—Cable Channel 6 on Comcast and RCN, Channel 30 on Verizon). The broadcast also will be streamed through the County Web site at www.montgomerycountymd.gov

                                                                            # # # #

Last edited: 1/15/2016  

Council Home
About the Council
Public Participation
Phil Andrews
Roger Berliner
Marc Elrich
Valerie Ervin
Nancy Floreen
George Leventhal
Nancy Navarro
Craig Rice
Hans Riemer
Council Agenda
Committee Agenda
Packets & Meeting Summaries
Legislation & Resolutions

Zoning Text Amendments
Budget Update
Council Approves FY14 Operating Budget
Master Plans
Upcoming Public Hearings
Plans before Council
Completed Plans
Council Communications
Contact the Council
Council News
Listen to Council Sessions by Phone
View Council Sessions - Live and On Demand
Council Photos
CCM (County Cable)