Press Photos RSSFTwitterYouTube  

For Immediate Release: 5/9/2013
Leggett Announces Members of County's "Nighttime Economy" Task Force
Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett today announced his appointments to the County’s Nighttime Economy Task Force designed to evaluate and push forward changes to encourage increased nighttime business and social activity for residents, employees, and visitors of all ages and cultural backgrounds.

The Nighttime Economy Task Force will examine policies, resources and amenities that address Montgomery County’s nightlife offerings. Specifically, the task force will address policies that can boost entertainment offerings throughout the County, increase financial prospects of employment and business development while also helping to enhance the sense of community throughout the communities that make up our county.

“This initiative reflects my vision for a 21st century Montgomery that is innovation-driven, transit-friendly, connected, and multi-generational,” said Leggett. “A thriving nighttime economy is an opportunity to enhance Montgomery’s attractiveness to all generations, businesses and visitors. In its first phase, the focus will be on Bethesda, Silver Spring, Rockville, Germantown, and Wheaton.”

Through the Nighttime Economy Task Force, the County will examine the following questions and opportunities:

• What kind of mix of business, entertainment and arts would make a vibrant and attractive urban center?
• How do we attract businesses in defined geographic areas that appeal to multiple generations?
• What are the national trends and models on nighttime economy?
• How do we develop local models to enhance the County’s nighttime offerings in its urban centers?

The Task Force is expected to complete its policy recommendations within six months of its first meeting.

The Task Force members announced today are: 

1. Heather Dlhopolsky, Chair, Bethesda, Linowes and Blocher
2. Henriot St. Gerard, Vice Chair, Wheaton, Chair of the Wheaton Urban District Advisory Committee
3. Kristina Bigby, Transportation lead, County Barwood Transportation
4. Andy Chod, Public Space and Amenities lead, Upcounty, Minkoff Development
5. Mike Diegel, Arts & Entertainment lead, Silver Spring, Chair of the Silver Spring Arts & Entertainment Advisory Committee
6. Miti Figueredo, Transportation lead, Downcounty, Chevy Chase Land Company
7. Evan Glass, Quality of Life, Silver Spring, Silver Spring Citizens Advisory Committee
8. Will Jawando, Quality of Life lead, Silver Spring, Discovery Communications
9. Erica Leatham, Public Space and Amenities lead, Bethesda, Ballard Spahr, Chair of Arts & Humanities Council
10. Alice Nappy, Arts & Entertainment lead, Rockville, VisArts
11. Megan Pagado, Arts & Entertainment lead, Silver Spring, Assistant Manager of Digital Media at Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center
12. Dan Reed, Transportation lead, Silver Spring, Community Activist
13. Vanessa Rodriguez, Business Engagement lead, Bethesda FRIT
14. Alan Pohoryles, Venue Safety lead, Bethesda, Tommy Joes Restaurant
15. Jonathan Sachs, Business engagement lead, County, Adventist Healthcare
16. Holly Sears, Business Engagement lead, County, Montgomery Business Development Corporation
17. Will Smith, Public Safety lead, Silver Spring, Resident
18. Stephanie Steele, Venue Safety lead, Silver Spring, Fillmore
19. Gam Wijetunge, Public Safety lead, Wheaton, Wheaton Volunteer Rescue Squad & Member of Mid-County Citizens Advisory Board
20. Doug Wrenn, Quality of Life lead, Upcounty, Rodgers Consulting
21. Linda Price, Council Staff

Lead County staff for the effort will be Ana Lopez van Balen, Mid-County Regional Director; Kathie Durbin, Chief, Department of Liquor Control; Gabe Albornoz, Director, Department of Recreation; and Dan Hoffman, Chief Innovation Officer.

Additional representatives will come from the County Council staff and local municipalities. Additional members of the community will be involved through issue group meetings or through community forums that will be established to vet recommendations from the task force.

Serving as ex-officio members will be County Councilmembers Marc Elrich, Valerie Ervin, Nancy Floreen, and Hans Riemer.  Also serving are Rep. John Delaney and Rep. Chris Van Hollen. 

Task Force chair Heather Dlhopolsky can be contacted by email at for questions related to the task force. 

# # #
Release ID: 13-139
Media Contact: Patrick Lacefield 240-777-6507

Return to News Releases