New County Council Leadership

County Councilmembers Roger Berliner (Dist. 1) and Nancy Navarro (Dist. 4) were recently unanimously elected by the Council to serve as president and vice president respectively. Both will serve one-year terms.

President Berliner was elected to the Montgomery County Council in November 2006 and was re-elected in November 2010. He represents the Bethesda, Chevy Chase and Potomac areas. He also serves as the Council’s representative to the County’s Sustainability Working Group and Green Economic Task Force. Regionally, he serves on the Washington Regional Board of Directors of the Council of Governments, where he is an active member of the Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee.

Vice President Navarro was elected to represent District 4 in a special election in May 2009 and was re-elected in the general election of November 2010. She chairs the Council’s Government Operations and Fiscal Policy (GO) Committee and serves on the Health and Human Services Committee. Prior to her election to the Council, Councilmember Navarro served on the Montgomery County Board of Education, where she was twice elected president (2006 and 2008). She was appointed to the Board of Education in October 2004 to fill the term of the vacant District 5 seat. In November 2006, she was elected to a full four-year term. She was a member of the board's Strategic Planning Committee and chaired the Communications and Public Engagement Committee.

Read the complete text of President Berliner’s speech.

CATEGORIES: County Council
POSTED AT: Friday, December 09, 2011 | 7:00:00 AM |
News and Information from Montgomery County Government, Public Information Office.
To subscribe email newsletter,
visit eSubscription.