Commission for Women Celebrates 40th Anniversary, Announces Honorees for Women’s History Archives

To mark its 40th anniversary, the Montgomery County Commission for Women (CFW) will honor 10 local women just named to the Montgomery County Women’s History Archives and will unveil a new quilt made for the occasion. The dinner celebration will be held on Wednesday, July 11, from 6:30 to 9 p.m., at the Rockville Hilton Hotel, Atrium Room, 1750 Rockville Pike.

Connie Morella, former U.S. congresswoman and ambassador to the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, will deliver the keynote address. The first woman from Montgomery County elected to the U.S. Congress, Morella was one of the 30 women included in the Women’s History Archives Project for the 30th anniversary celebration. The archives project recognizes the contributions of women of historical significance to the County.

In 2002, a quilt was created by fiber artist, and then-CFW president Anne Sanderoff Walker featuring hand-quilted squares depicting the field in which each of the 30 honorees’ achievements were attained. To commemorate the 40th anniversary, Sanderoff Walker created another quilt to recognize the new honorees.

The 10 women being honored and added to the CFW’s History Archives are:

  • Sharon V. Burrell – first African American female judge appointed to the Montgomery County Circuit Court.
  • Patricia E. Cornish – first National President of Business and Professional Women USA from Maryland (2000-2001).
  • Jean B. Cryor – Maryland House of Delegates, 1995-2007; president-elect and president of the Executive Board of the Women Legislators of Maryland.
  • Pam Foltz – first female career firefighter in Montgomery County.
  • Barbara J. Krumsiek – recipient of the 2010 Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women’s Human Rights Award for her work toward the advancement of women in business.
  • Ingrid U. McKee – first woman to be named Police Officer of the Year in Montgomery County; first female criminal investigator; and first woman to be promoted above the rank of officer in the MCPD.
  • Terry A. O’Neill – feminist attorney, professor, social justice activist.
  • Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard – first African American woman president of Montgomery College.
  • Carmen Delgado Votaw – first Hispanic woman chief of staff for a member of Congress in the U.S. House of Representatives.
  • Eun Yang – morning anchor on NBC Washington; host on NBC Washington Nonstop.

The biographies and photographs of the 2012 honorees will be featured on the CFW’s website by the day of the event.

Admission is $50 per person. To register, call 240-777-8333 or visit

‘Tis the Season: Farmers Markets Abound throughout County

Summer -- the season that brings us bug spray, sunscreen, cook-outs, concerts, fireworks displays, plenty of swimming pools to cool us off, and more things to do than there are hours in the day.

But around Montgomery County, from Takoma Park to Clarksburg and many points in between, summertime means farmers markets that bring the bounty of local fields to residents' tables.

The Department of Economic Development has prepared a list of farmers markets with times and locations.  See what markets are close to you.

Nominations Sought for Arts and Humanities Awards; Submissions due in July  

County Executive Ike Leggett is seeking nominations for the annual County Executive’s Excellence in the Arts and Humanities Awards the most prestigious honors conferred by Montgomery County on individual artists, scholars, organizations and cultural patrons. The awards will be presented at a special ceremony on Monday, October 22.

The following awards will be presented: the Education, Community, Volunteer, Outstanding Artist or Scholar, Business or Individual Patron and Emerging Leader.

Members of the community are invited to nominate an individual or group worthy of an award. The deadline for nominations is July 13.

For details and nominating instructions, visit the Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County’s website at

ICC Bus Routes Handy for BWI Travelers and Commuters

The Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) operates express bus service along the first phase of the Intercounty Connector (ICC), also known as MD200. Two bus routes link Gaithersburg to job and transportation centers at Fort Meade and Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport.

ICC Bus Route 201 provides service between the Gaithersburg Park and Ride lot located at I-270 and MD 124 in Montgomery County and BWI Marshall Airport. It operates a daily seven-stop route with hourly service accommodating 14 round-trips. Gaithersburg service begins at 4:00 a.m. and ends at 5:00 p.m. BWI Marshall return service runs from 9:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

ICC Bus Route 202 is designed to serve employees working at NSA and Fort Meade. The Monday through Friday, six-stop service operates between the Gaithersburg Park and Ride Lot in Montgomery County and Fort Meade in Anne Arundel County. Three morning buses leave Gaithersburg at 5:15, 6:15 and 7:15 a.m. Afternoon routes leave Fort Meade at noon, 3, 4 and 5 p.m.

Detailed information on routes, times and fares can be found at the ICC website. Customers can also call the MTA Transit Information Center, Monday through Friday from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m., at 410-539-5000.

Consumer Protection's  2011 Annual Report Marks 40 Years of Serivce to Residents

Montgomery County’s Office of Consumer Protection (OCP) has issued its 2011 Annual Report in celebration of 40 years of service to consumers and businesses in Montgomery County.

Over the past four decades, the office has garnered a national reputation and works closely with other government agencies and non-profit organizations to “ensure integrity in our marketplace.”

OCP licenses various retail businesses, has the authority to issue civil citations and administrative subpoenas and mediates thousands of disputes. A dedicated staff of experts, including a certified automotive technician and a team of volunteers address most consumer transactions. OCP also administers several other programs including the Commission on Common Ownership Communities, energy utility advocacy, estimated property tax disclosure and domestic worker contracts.

The annual report is available online and a limited number of copies are available at all Montgomery County Public Libraries.

Summertime…and the Reading is Fun 

Children and teens in all age ranges are invited to participate in this year’s Summer Reading Program at Montgomery County Public Libraries (MCPL) from now to August 11. The themes are “Read to Me” for birth thru Pre-K; “Dream Big” for children K thru 6; and "Own the Night" for teens.

Participants can sign up for the program and keep track of the books they read, or have read to them, using the designated summer reading registration computer or a public computer in the library, at home or elsewhere. You can sign up now.

Magicians, musicians, storytellers, jugglers and puppets are among the various entertainers who will perform for children at all MCPL branches this summer. Schedules of programs are on the library’s calendar of events and flyers will be available at the branches. All programs are funded by the Friends of the Library, Montgomery County, Inc. (FOLMC) and by local Friends of the Library chapters.

To request ADA program accommodations for any of the Summer Reading programs, call the library hosting the program at least five work days in advance.

CATEGORIES: Worth Noting
POSTED AT: Tuesday, June 26, 2012 | 3:00:00 AM |
News and Information from Montgomery County Government, Public Information Office.
To subscribe email newsletter,
visit eSubscription.