Tuesday, May 31, 2011
Montgomery County Police participated in the national “Click It or Ticket” campaign during the month of May by aggressively enforcing Maryland’s seat belt laws.
Residents are reminded that the driver, front seat passenger and all other vehicle occupants under the age of 16 must wear a seat belt or be secured in a child restraint system (child safety seat or booster seat) while riding in a Maryland registered motor vehicle. The penalty for not wearing a seat belt is $25. The penalty for violating the child restraint law is $60.
Maryland law mandates that every child under eight years of age must be secured in a federally-approved and correctly used child restraint system, unless the child is 4’9” or taller, or weighs more than 65 pounds. Montgomery County Police recommend the use of seat belts for every motor vehicle passenger over the age and size requirements for use of child restraint systems.
Anyone not wearing a seat belt increases their risk for injury or even death. Drivers and passengers are urged to buckle up.
POSTED AT: 9:00:00 AM