Press Photos RSSFTwitterYouTube  

For Immediate Release: 5/23/2008
County Honors Student Artists in Annual School Recycling Poster Contest

Thirty-two student artists from schools throughout Montgomery County have been announced as winners in the annual Montgomery County School Recycling Poster Contest. The competition was sponsored by the County Department of Public Works and Transportation’s Division of Solid Waste Services (DSWS) in partnership with Montgomery County Public Schools and Waste Management, Inc.

First-, second- and third-place winners and honorable mentions -- depicting this year’s theme of “Don’t Throw It Away, Recycle Every Day”-- were selected from each of five grade levels and three special categories. Judges’ selections were made on the basis of creativity, use of theme, spelling and overall artistic ability for the age level.

The following winners were recognized at an awards ceremony, held at the Executive Office Building in Rockville on May 20, during the County’s celebration of Recycling Awareness Week.

Kindergarten-First Grade:

First Place -- Susana Ochoa, Rosemont ES, Gaithersburg; Second Place -- Mia Hazra, Beverly Farms ES, Potomac; Third Place -- Sam Welsh, Glenallan ES, Silver Spring; Honorable Mentions -- Jonathan Gonzalez, Sherwood ES, Sandy Spring; and Clarissa Halpern, Ritchie Park ES, Rockville.

Second-Third Grade:

First Place -- Grace Lee, Ritchie Park ES, Rockville; Second Place -- Beira Ho, Cannon Road ES, Silver Spring; Third Place -- Camilo Gonzalez-Sol, Rolling Terrace ES, Silver Spring; Honorable Mentions -- Rebecca Schrader and Maria Diaz, both of Chevy Chase ES, Chevy Chase.

Fourth-Fifth Grade:

First Place -- Helana Zagami, Sherwood ES, Sandy Spring; Second Place -- Kalila Morsink and Third Place -- Rachel Berlowe-Binder, both of Chevy Chase ES, Chevy Chase; Honorable Mentions -- Olivia Mannon and Leighton Moore, Chevy Chase ES; and Aditya V. Kaliappan, Clearspring ES, Damascus.

Sixth-Eighth Grade:

First Place -- Tiffany Keung, Herbert Hoover MS, Rockville; Second Place -- Olivia Chao and Anna Rose Chi, Cabin John MS, Potomac; Third Place -- Carly Stoliker, John Poole MS, Poolesville; Honorable Mentions -- Devin Luce, Parkland MS, Rockville and Mayu Arimoto, Cabin John MS, Potomac.

Middle School Foreign Language:

First Place -- Dalila Pineda, Second Place -- Aziz Mbaye and Third Place -- Dudveris Reyes, all from Takoma Park Middle School, Silver Spring.

Ninth-Twelve Grade:

First Place -- Thomas Laprade, Winston Churchill HS, Potomac.

High School Foreign Language:

First Place -- Xiomara Portillo, Seneca Valley HS, Germantown.

Multi Media/3-D:

First Place -- Brendan Lipton, Second Place --Timmy Ostermeyer and Third Place -- Heather Young, all of James Hubert Blake HS in Silver Spring; Honorable Mention -- Sumaccha Duyn and Ana Raffeld, Tilden MS, Rockville.

For more information about the recycling poster contest or recycling in Montgomery County, call Alan Pultyniewicz at 240-777-6400.

# # #

Note to editors: photos of winning posters available upon request at number above.

# # #
Release ID: 08-180
Media Contact: Bonnie Ayers 240-777-6507

Return to News Releases