Press Photos RSSFTwitterYouTube  

For Immediate Release: 6/17/2013
Montgomery County “Nighttime Economy” Task Force Begins Work

The Montgomery County Nighttime Economy Task Force, appointed by County Executive Isiah Leggett in May, has established seven committees to study and address different topics relating to their charge of creating changes in the County to encourage increased nighttime business and social activity for residents, employees and visitors of all ages and cultural backgrounds.

The seven committees and their areas of research include:

1. Entertainment – dining/social/performance venues, events, talent retention, marketing and assessment of the economic impact of these offerings;

2. Public use and amenities – geographic boundaries, multi-use sidewalks, outdoor dining, street performers, vendors/kiosks, food trucks, public markets, pedestrian safety and access, ADA compliance, lighting and panhandling issues;

3. Qualify of life – affordable housing, noise control, soundproofing of venues, trash and cigarette pick-up and communications with the public;

4. Transportation – nighttime transportation services and amenities, safe rides, shared rides, valet parking, taxi services, parking lot safety and DUI prevention;

5. Public safety – crime prevention, issues related to closing times and crowd control;

6. Venue operations – liquor laws, safety plans, server training, security training, patron behavior, age identification and safety alliances; and

7. Business engagement – permitting process, customer service training, identification of nightlife networks, hours of operation and business incentives.

The Nighttime Economy Task Force meetings are held on the third Monday of each month from 5 to 7 p.m., and the committee meetings will be held on the fourth Tuesday of each month. Members of the public are encouraged to attend these meetings to offer ideas and solutions. For meeting times and locations, go to In addition to information about upcoming meetings, the website will contain up-to-date information on the progress of the task force and its committees.

For more information, contact Task Force Chair Heather Dlhopolsky at

# # #
Release ID: 13-184
Media Contact: Sue Tucker 240-777-6507

Return to News Releases