MCFRS News Release

Many are Called, Few are Chosen - 2006 Public Safety Valor Awards

Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce 32nd Annual Awards Ceremony

Twenty-five (25) individuals will be recognized and will receive valor awards for their life-saving actions during fifteen (15) separate incidents last year. In addition, five (5) individuals will receive commendations for their community service. The Superintendent of the New Orleans Fire Department, Fire Chief Charles Parent will be in attendance to witness a special presentation of a Unit Citation to the Joint Public Safety Task Force who responded to the City of New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina.

This is Montgomery County’s premier public safety awards ceremony. It is the largest event of its kind in the Washington, D.C metropolitan area. The Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce sponsors this event which recognizes the services of the County’s public safety agencies, including the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service, Montgomery County Department of Police, Maryland National Capital Park Police – Montgomery County Division, Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office and the Montgomery County Department of Correction and Rehabilitation.

Valor awards will be presented to Public Safety personnel who intervened in situations that often placed themselves in danger to save a life (or lives) and on incidents such as one that prevented a suicide, personnel rescued and/or assisted people from burning buildings, officers captured and detained dangerous persons and others who provided emergency first aid to trapped victims of a car fire or injured persons hurt during a home invasion. In addition, several others will be recognized for their extraordinary service to the community whether it be decades of volunteer firefighting service, dedication to various causes that improve the quality of life for persons leaving prison and those homeless or displaying, leadership, hard work and giving freely of their time to help area youths.

Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce (MCCC) President Richard Parson and Chamber Chairman William Robertson will be joined by Maryland Congressman Chris Van Hollen, Maryland Lieutenant Governor Michael Steele, Montgomery County Executive Doug Duncan and Montgomery County Council Chairman George Leventhal, as well as Fire Chief Tom Carr, Police Chief Tom Manger, Park Police Chief Nathan Barber, Correction and Rehabilitation Director Art Wallenstein and Sheriff Ray Kight. Montgomery Chamber of Commerce, Past Chairman, Steve Robins, is Chairman of this year’s MCCC Public Safety Awards Ceremony.

No Gold Medals of Valor are being awarded this year. There will be six silver (6) Medals of Valor presented along with eleven (11) Bronze Medals of Valor and eight (8) awards of Honorable Mention. A Unit Citation will be presented in recognition of the 100 persons collectively from the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service, Police, Sheriff, Public Works and Transportation who were part of a team that responded to New Orleans in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Over 1,000 people are expected to attend the event which will take place at the Montgomery County Conference Center, 5711 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda on Thursday, March 23, 2006 at 12 noon.