MCFRS News Release

Valor Awards to Montgomery County Firefighter/Rescuers

The Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce 33rd Annual Public Safety Awards Ceremony honors the heroic deeds and community service initiatives of Montgomery County's fire-rescue and law enforcement workers.

Along with the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service and Department of the Montgomery County Police, other public safety agencies being recognized are the Montgomery County Department of Correction and Rehabilitation, Montgomery County Sheriff's Office and the Maryland-National Capital Park Police, Montgomery County Division.

Over thirty (30) public safety workers who were involved in various incidents will receive medals of valor and community service awards.

Seventeen (17) police officers (plus one canine) and fourteen (14) firefighters will receive various Medals of Valor for their involvement in nine (9) separate incidents. In the 33 year history of this program the Gold Medal of Valor has been presented only eight (8) times. This year there will be one (1) Gold medal recipient along with five (5) Silver medal, seven (7) Bronze medal and nineteen (19) Honorable Mention medal awardees. Several of the past Gold Medal of Valor award recipients are expected to attend.

Mr. Hal Bruno, of Chevy Chase, Maryland will receive the (Fire) Chief Leslie B. Thompson Community Service Award. Other Award recipients include: Firefighter III Nick Ruiz, Laurel, Maryland and Master Firefighter James Randall, Hanover, Maryland for their actions at an apartment fire on Georgian Woods Way, in Wheaton on April 12, 2006; Firefighter III Josh Devries, New Market, Maryland, Firefighter III Walter Balma, Clinton, Maryland, Master Firefighter John Harding, Jefferson, Maryland, Lieutenant Peter Dugan, Arnold, Maryland, Lieutenant James Summers, Woodsboro, Maryland, Captain Evers Trice, Frederick, Maryland for their efforts on December 4, 2007 at a car crash into a building, explosion and fire on Congressional Lane, in Rockville; Master Firefighter Mike Luke, Willards, Maryland, Master Firefighter Marc Wilson, Laurel, Maryland, Captain Evers Trice, Frederick, Maryland for their actions on June 12, 2006 helping numerous victims trapped in high and swift water overflowing from the Northwest Branch; and Firefighter III Brian Kane, New Market, Maryland, Firefighter III Jeff Kuhns, Middleburg, Pennsylvania, Captain Dale Johnson, Laytonsville, Maryland for their efforts on a car crash and fire with trapped victims in Gaithersburg on August 18, 2007.