To borrow library materials, you must have a library account and be in good standing. You will not be able to check out items, renew items, or place holds if you owe $25.00 or more. See Paying Fines and Fees.
Please have your library card in hand to check out materials. If you don't have your library card with you, you must show proof of identity.
You may check out up to 100 items on your card. You may check out up to 20 DVDs on your card.
If an item you want is not on the
shelf, you can place a
hold through our catalog.
You will be notified by mail or by email when the item reaches your pick-up branch. Alternatively, if an item is available at another branch, you can call there to ask
that their copy
be sent to your
branch for you. There is no charge
for holds or transfers.
If our library system doesn't own an item you need,
we can request it from another library system through Interlibrary
|Express Bestselling Books
||3 weeks; nonrenewable
||1 week; nonrenewable
|Large Print Books
||Marina items: 3 weeks; renewable 3 times.
OCLC items: Loan period is set by the lending library; nonrenewable.
You may renew most library materials. You may renew an item 3 times, and each renewal period is 3 weeks.
There are three ways to renew materials:
- Renew by bringing items with you to any MCPL library;
- Renew by calling 240-777-0007, our always-available automated renewal line; or
- Renew from Your Account online at our website.
You will not be able to renew items if you owe $25.00 or more in outstanding fines, lost charges, and/or overdues. See Paying Fines or Fees.
Some materials cannot be renewed, including:
- Items for which others have placed hold requests.
- Items that have already been renewed 3 times.
- Express books. These current bestsellers are not eligible for renewal after the 3-week borrowing period.
- Express DVDs. These entertainment DVDs are not eligible for renewal after the 1-week borrowing period.
- ILL items from OCLC are not eligible for renewal. (ILL items from Marina may be renewed.)
- Items borrowed on an Educator account.
- Kits (Storycare Kits, Peas in a Pod,
You may return library materials:
- to any branch of Montgomery County Public Libraries.
- to our 24-hour book drops. Since book drops can
damage materials, we ask that you bring materials
to inside return desks whenever possible.
- to any libraries with which MCPL has reciprocal
borrowing privileges, including libraries throughout the state of Maryland, the District of Columbia, and Northern Virginia. You may also return materials belonging to these library systems to any MCPL library. It may take several weeks for items returned outside their owning system to be cleared from your account.
Adult Books (except mass-market paperbacks and 21-Day Express books)
|Adult Mass-Market Paperbacks and Periodicals
|Adult Audiobooks and CD's
|Adult DVDs and VHS
|Children's & Young Adult Books (except mass-market paperbacks and 21-Day Express books)
|Children's & Young Adult Paperbacks and Periodicals
|Children's & Young Adult Audiobooks and CD's
|Children's DVDs and VHS
|21-Day Express Books (nonrenewable)
|E-Books and Downloadable Audiobooks
Never any fines. Items return themselves on due date.
Customers may not borrow items, renew items, or place holds when their overdues and/or fines
reach $25.00 or more. Customers must pay all fines and fees in order to renew expiring library accounts.
|Holds Not Picked Up
||$1.00 fee per hold not picked up within 10 days of notification of its availability. You may cancel unneeded holds via your online library account or by contacting Ask-a-Librarian by email or by phone at 240-777-0001.
|Lost or Stolen Library Card
||$2.00 replacement fee
||Full replacement cost
| Interlibrary Loan Books
||Any fees charged by the lending library including
| Nonresident Card
||$.15 per page
Paying Fines and Fees