As a consumer, you should be aware of the following requirements for obtaining a locksmith license under Maryland’s Locksmiths Act:
- Application The business owner or the owner’s designee must apply for a license using an application supplied by the Secretary of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR). A person must be over the age of 18 to receive a locksmith license. Passport-size photographs of the owner and each employee must accompany the application, as well as the names, birthdates, residence addresses and driver’s license numbers of these individuals.
- Fixed Business Address The licensed locksmith must have a single physical location in Maryland that is staffed during designated business hours.
- Criminal background check The business owner and all employees must submit to a state and national criminal background check.
- Insurance Each licensed locksmith is required to maintain general liability insurance of at least $300,000.
- Records Copies of recipts required by this law shall be kept at the fixed business address for a period of 3 years after the date of the service call.
- Fines The new law provides for monetary fines and/or criminal penalties for violations of Maryland’s Locksmith Act.
- Renewal A license is good for two years and must be renewed at the end of that period.