E-mail is required to file a report online. The Crime Reporting System (CRS) is designed to make it easier and more convenient for you to file a police report without leaving home. Not every crime can be reported using the CRS. You may report theft, vandalism, identity theft, and lost property using the CRS. Please confirm the following to find out if CRS is right for you:
This incident is not an emergency - if you have an emergency, call 9-1-1!
This incident occurred within Montgomery County BUT did not occur in Takoma Park, NIH, Park, or Metro property.
The value of property stolen is less than $10,000.
There are no known suspects.
This incident did not happen on the interstate.
This incident is not a motor vehicle collision.
You are not reporting a vehicle as stolen.
You are not reporting vehicle tags as stolen.
You are not reporting an attempt to steal a vehicle.
If you answered yes to all of the above, you may file your report online and you should continue reading. If you answered no to any of the questions, please call the police non-emergency number at 301-279-8000.
Upon completion of this report process :
You will be given a temporary report number.
You will be able to print a copy of the temporary report to keep for your records.
Your report will be reviewed by department staff.
You will be e-mailed an approved copy of your report.
You may be contacted if further investigation of your case is needed.
Note: If you file an online theft from vehicle report, please call 301-279-8000 after completing your report for an officer's response for scene processing.
Remember that filing this report is under oath and that filing a false police report is a crime.
Under Maryland Law, the application which you are filing is being filed under oath.
(a) Prohibited.- A person may not make, or cause to be made, a statement, report, or complaint that the person knows to be false as a whole or in material part, to a lawenforcementofficer of the State, of a county, municipal corporation, or other political subdivision of the State, or of the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Police with intent to deceive and to cause an investigation or other action to be taken as a result of the statement, report, or complaint.
(b) Penalty.- A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 6 months or a fine not exceeding $500 or both.